The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod by Heather Brewer

These books are all from a series called “The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod” by Heather Brewer. In short, the story is about a boy who is half vampire and half human trying to live a normal life in high school after losing his vampire father and human mother in a fire. He later comes into contact with his uncle Otis and finds out about the vampire world, described as Elysia. Vlad also learns that many people say he is the “Pravus” which is a half vampire and half human ruler who will rule over vampire and human kind. D’Ablo, a vampire who is trying to steal the “Pravus” status from Vlad is out to kill Vlad for a ritual. In the end, it turns out that Vlad’s dad, Tomas, didn’t die after all and was in hiding to keep Vlad safe. In the end of the series, however, it turns out all his father intentionally made Vlad just so he could be the father of the Pravus. Otis and Vlad find that Tomas has actually gone mad and kill him. Then they all live happily ever after. There’s a lot more to the story about the “Slayer society” and romance and problems with his best friend, but that’d just make me a big spoiler.

Fallen by Lauren Kate

This book is about a girl named Luce who is sent to a school for semi-mental people because she is constantly attacked by these “shadows”. At the school, she meets two people named Cam and Daniel. She spends time with the both of them and later finds out that they are both actually fallen angels. She also finds that Cam is actually evil and Daniel is a good guy. She starts to fall in love with Daniel but for some reason Daniel is hesitant to get into a relationship. Later he explains that about every century she comes and falls in love with him, and he falls in love with her, but whenever Daniel gets his first kiss with Luce, she disappears into shadows and is gone for almost another century. The thing is that time, Daniel kissed Luce and she didn’t disappear. It turns out that the system is changed and has something to do with the next book in the series. Anyways, it turns out that Luce’s other friends, Arianne and Gabriella, are also fallen angels and are fighting a war with the bad fallen angels, Cam. They have a battle at the school in which neither side won. At the end of the story, Daniel sends Luce to a far away island for protection. In the final scene, Daniel and Cam are mysteriously perched on the beams above the place in which Luce is speaking. They discuss peace and the book ends.

I’ve only had time to get the first book in the series, but I’m really looking for too the next book. I’ve also heard from a few internet sources that Disney might be making a movie on this book, which I’m also looking forward too. Overall, it’s a good read though it’s kinda like Twilight..

The Wolves Of Mercy Falls series by Maggie Steifvater

The picture above shows the three books in the series. The series is basically about a girl named Grace who falls in love with a werewolf named Sam. Werewolves, in this book, are just normal people that turn into wolves when it gets too cold. Grace lives in Mercy Falls, Minnesota and was interested in the wolves since she was small. One day, she witnesses one of the wolves turn into a boy, Sam. They fall in love and are sent on a journey to find a cure for the werewolf-ness. Then, another boy named Jack is infected with the wolf disease and turns into a werewolf. His sister, Isabelle, finds out all about werewolves and finds that Grace/Sam are also trying to find a cure. Together, they collaborate and try to find a cure with the help of Beck, Sam’s werewolf caretaker who came back from Canada. At the end of the first book, they inject Jack and Sam with meningitis, but Jack dies while Sam’s werewolf is “cured.” In the second book, they find out that Grace was actually bitten years ago and will turn into a wolf. Meanwhile, Beck, knowing it’s his last year being human, has to recruit other people to become werewolves to keep the pack going. He recruits Cole St. Clair and Victor, though Victor is later hunted down and killed by Isabelle’s dad. In the end of the second book, Grace turns into a wolf, leaving Sam, Cole, and Isabelle trying to find a sure cure for Grace. In the third book, they find out that Isabelle’s dad is trying to get an aerial hunt approved and will hunt the pack down. Sam and Grace collaborate with an officer named Koenig who finds out about the werewolf things. Koenig finds out that the aerial hunt will be mass murder and tries to help Sam to find a solution. The solution is to move the pack to an abandoned place that Koenig owns. The problem is, they have to find out how to move the pack. Meanwhile, Cole is working hard on finding a cure, and gets a concoction that will turn wolves human. They catch Beck-wolf and turn him into human long enough to find out how to move the pack. However, they find out that the aerial hunt has been moved early. They immediately carry out the plan and try to get the wolves to the reservation. At the end of the hunt, Isabelle is able to distract her father, though three wolves are shot: Beck, Shelby, and Cole. The next day when Sam and Grace go back to collect the bodies, they find that  Cole’s body isn’t there. At the end of the book however, Isabelle receives a phone call from Cole, who is alive and in the forest healing. In the final few pages, Grace is about to turn into the wolf for the last time before Cole’s cure takes effect. Good read.


2 responses to “Books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s